Great Britain to approve sanctions against Russians for violation of human rights

The authorities have not yet disclosed the list of people who will be punished for violating human rights. It should be announced on July 6 by British Foreign Minister Dominic Raab. The state will impose sanctions for the first time after leaving the EU

On July 6, British Foreign Minister Dominic Raab will announce the names and surnames of people, in particular from Russia and Saudi Arabia, who have come under sanctions for violating human rights. It is reported by the Financial Times (FT).

The newspaper writes that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs refused to disclose the sanctions list, but the names and surnames of those affected by the restrictions will be announced at a meeting in parliament on Monday. This will include people whom the UK considers involved in the death of lawyer Sergei Magnitsky. The newspaper clarifies that several dozen people will be on the list: according to Raab, “torturers, murderers and rapists” will get there. Great Britain intends to punish Saudi Arabians in connection with the assassination of Jamal Hashkaji in 2018.

Sanctions will take effect immediately, FT notes. The assets of persons declared by Raab in the UK will be frozen, they will be banned from entering the country. The BBC clarifies that, in addition to Russia and Saudi Arabia, North Korea will be sanctioned, while China will not be affected. The radio station also draws attention to the fact that the UK will introduce sanctions for the first time on its own. This became possible after the kingdom left the EU as part of Brexit. The representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs noted that the regime operating only in Britain will allow “working independently from such allies as the USA, Canada, Australia and the European Union.”