Russia imposes sanctions against nine Canadian citizens

2 weeks ago
# #

Nine citizens of Canada, who are involved in the formation and implementation of the anti-Russian policy of this country, were put on the sanctions list of the Russian Federation. This is reported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

Among the nine citizens sanctioned are: David Lametty, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada; Anne Kelly, head of the Federal Prison Service of Canada; Brenda Lackey, Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; Marci Surquez, head of the Office of the Internal Affairs of the Prime Minister; Dominique Leblanc, Minister of Regional Affairs; Jody Thomas, Deputy National Defence Minister; Mike Rulo, Deputy Chief of Staff of the National Defence Staff; Brahman, Deputy Commissioner of the Mounted Police.

According to the FCO statement, Canada continues its anti-Russian policy and its actions are counterproductive.

At the same time, the Foreign Ministry stressed that Russia is ready for building mutually respectful relations with Canada, although some Canadian politicians make Russophobic statements.

The Canadian government has assessed Russia’s imposition of sanctions, the republic’s foreign ministry said.

“We are aware of Russia’s decision to ban nine Canadians from entering Russia in response to sanctions imposed by Canada on March 24. Russia’s sanctions against Canadian citizens, including members of the government, are unacceptable and unjustified,” said a foreign ministry spokesman.